Al Gharbia 2030

 

With a heritage of more than 150,000 years of continuous human habitation, Al Gharbia is blessed with a depth of cultural assets. From the maritime legacy of fishing and pearling to the agricultural activities of the inland tribes, the people and places of Al Gharbia are inextricably tied to their ancient past while heading toward a modern era of development and expansion.

Introduction to Al Gharbia


Situated between the Empty Quarter and the Arabian Gulf to the west of Abu Dhabi, the Al Gharbia region encompasses approximately 35,250 km2 including the country's richest oil and gas reserves.

Al Gharbia offers a diversity of place and a unique reflection upon the evolving Emirati lifestyle. Al Gharbia was paid particular attention by the late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, who dedicated his efforts and time to developing the region and improving the quality of life for its inhabitants.

Al Gharbia is characterised by a large geographic spread and low population density. There are seven main settlements in the region, each providing a range of services and opportunities to residents. These are Madinat Zayed, Mirfa, Ghayathi, Liwa, Ruwais, Sila'a, and Delma Island. Population density is spread across these seven settlements, with the highest concentrations in Madinat Zayed and Ruwais.


Key statistics box:

  • Al Gharbia is 35,250 square kilometres: 60% of Abu Dhabi Emirate's landmass
  • Al Gharbia has a population of c.115,500 people (2006)


The Vision of Plan Al Gharbia 2030

Plan Al Gharbia 2030 is designed to aid in moving Al Gharbia toward the future through managed, responsible growth. Environmental respect, social health, cultural identity and economic development all share equal status and provide the opportunity to leverage economic growth without sacrificing the cultural and historic significance of the region for future generations.

الغربية 2030

 

فضلاً عن تميزها بتراث يتجاوز عمره 150,00 عامًا من التواجد البشري المستمر، تحظى منطقة الغربية بعمق من الموجودات الثقافية. وبدءًا من هذا الإرث البحري من صيد الأسماك والغوص لجمع اللؤلؤ وانتهاءً بالأنشطة الزراعية للقبائل المحلية. يرتبط الأفراد والأماكن في الغربية ارتباطًا وثيقًا بماضيهم العريق مع تطلعهم إلى عصر حديث من التطور والتوسع.

تغطي منطقة الغربية التي تقع بين الربع الخالي والخليج العربي غرب أبو ظبي مساحة تقارب 35,250 كيلو متراً مربعاً تحتوي على أغنى احتياطيات البلاد من النفط والغاز.

تمثل الغربية تنوعاً في المكان وانعكاساً فريداً على أسلوب الحياة الإماراتي الناشئ. وقد مُنحت الغربية اهتماماً خاصاً من قبل المغفور له، بإذن الله، الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان الذي كرس الوقت والجهد لتطوير المنطقة وتحسين جودة الحياة لأهلها.

تتميز الغربية باتساع رقعتها الجغرافية وانخفاض كثافتها السكانية. ويوجد بالمنطقة سبعة تجمعات سكنية رئيسية تقدم كل منها مجموعة متنوعة من الخدمات والفرص لعامة السكان، وهذه المدن هي مدينة زايد والمرفأ وغياثي وليوا والرويس والسلع ودلما. وتتوزع الكثافة السكانية على هذه المدن السبع حيث توجد أعلى التركيزات في مدينة زايد والرويس.

إحصائيات رئيسية:

  • تبلغ مساحة الغربية 35,250 كيلو مترًا مربعًا بما يمثل 60% من المساحة الكلية لإمارة أبو ظبي.
  • يبلغ عدد سكان الغربية 115,500 نسمة (2006).

 

رؤية خطة الغربية 2030

صممت خطة الغربية 2030 للمساعدة في نقل الغربية نحو المستقبل في ظل نمو مسؤول ومنضبط. ويتمتع كل من الاحترام البيئي والصحة الاجتماعية والهوية الثقافية والتطور الاقتصادي بالمشاركة في نفس الوضع وإتاحة الفرصة لزيادة فعالية النمو الاقتصادي دون التضحية بالأهمية الثقافية والتاريخية للمنطقة بالنسبة للأجيال المستقبلية.